CPR Levels: The 4 Different Levels of CPR Training

Last updated:

Table of Content

Did you know that training for Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation has different levels? That’s right! CPR training includes various levels to choose from, providing you training for specific age groups. But what are the levels, and what are the differences? Let’s discuss it in this article.

What are the different levels of CPR training?

There are 4 CPR levels, which include levels A, B, and C. These CPR levels are targeted to a specific audience since the general public is not getting the same training as those in the medical field. Depending on the level of CPR chosen, CPR classes provide lifesaving skills to recognize and respond to various cardiac emergencies and choking for adults, children, and babies.

CPR Level A – Workplace and Lay Rescuer

CPR Level A is the most basic training in CPR. It is usually required at work to meet workplace health and safety requirements. It involves skills related to CPR, choking, and circulatory emergencies for adults that take just a few hours to learn. This certification also includes training on using an Automated External Defibrillator (AED). CPR Level A is recommended to lay rescuers interested in learning the basics of CPR training. Although it may seem limited or incomplete, this CPR training will still be sufficient to treat most conditions that require CPR and first aid at home or in the workplace, where most medical emergencies occur.

levels of cpr training

CPR Level B – Child Care Workers

CPR Level B course is designated for individuals learning CPR for children and infants. It includes instructions for using an automated external defibrillator with children. However, it does not have adult treatment methods and therefore is not a substitute but a supplement to the CPR Level A course. This level is often selected for babysitters and nannies caring for a child. It also includes instructions on how to use an automated defibrillator on children.

Also Read- How to Apply First Aid and CPR to Children with Special Needs?

levels of cpr training

CPR Level C

CPR Level C covers all aspects of CPR skills and theory for adults, children, and infants, including two-rescuer CPR skills. This level of CPR training blends skills from Level A and Level C courses. It is considered an all Inclusive Approach. This CPR Level is often recommended to police, firefighters, and lifeguards who may require comprehensive training for their work duties.

levels of cpr training

BLS (Basic Life Support)

Basic Life Support or BLS course is designed for medical personnel, healthcare professionals, and emergency responders, which requires more advanced life support skills. The BLS course provides healthcare providers with advanced skills to respond to medical emergencies. This CPR level includes CPR/AED courses for healthcare providers and the Basic Life Support Course, valid for two years.

If you still do not understand the difference between CPR levels A, B, C, and BLS, please do not hesitate to ask! You can register for an online CPR training course to learn these lifesaving skills. A digital certificate will be issued to class participants upon successful completion. The actual completion card will be delivered within 2-5 business days.

You can find the coupon code for CPR Select on our coupon page, which is regularly updated for the best value. Our course is more advantageous than other online certification providers, such as CPR Heart Center, National CPR Foundation, and American AED CPR Association.

Key Takeaway

CPR training is an essential lifesaving skill and is highly recommended for people of all ages to learn. Each level of training provides you with the lifesaving skills required to assist people of various ages.

CPR AED and First Aid Certification. Get certified Now with the latest AHA guidelines.

Takes less than 20 minutes. learn more

Try your knowledge with Practice Test